San Diego Visual Arts Network and Art Expressions Gallery present

Movers & Shakers:
Who’s Who in the San Diego Visual Arts World

Reception Fri, Sept 5 from 7 to 9 pm
Show continues until Oct 4

Movers & Shakers: (plural noun) very important, influential or innovative San Diegans in the visual arts community.

Mission: To recognize the people who make the San Diego art world spin through an online and gallery exhibition of portraits by San Diego regional artists.


Description: Unyielding enthusiasm, imagination, dedication and an intense love of art, drives the individuals who shape the art community in San Diego County. Artists, art collectors, students, teachers and the community at large all benefit from the extraordinary efforts of those who help put the San Diego cultural scene on the map. Movers and Shakers: Who’s Who in the San Diego Visual Arts World will celebrate these influential people through a collection of their portraits.

From Sept 5 to Oct 4, 2008, invited artists will exhibit portraits that will be featured at Art Expressions Gallery. To celebrate the opening, a reception will be held on Friday, Sept 5 from 7 to 9 pm to honor the Movers and Shakers, as well as the artists who created their portraits. Artists and Movers and Shakers involved in this exhibition were invited to participate by the Movers and Shakers committee:

Movers & Shakers


Dennis Paul Batt (Museum Artists Foundation; San Diego Visual Artists Guild) Jen Trute
Mary Beebe (Director, Stuart Collection, University of California) Philipp Scholz Rittermann
Ann Berchtold (Gallery Director, L Street Gallery Art Gallery; Program Director, San Diego Art Prize) Lisa Roche
Derrick Cartwright (The Maruja Baldwin Director, San Diego Museum of Art) Gerrit Greve
Sandra Chanis (Carlsbad Outdoor Arts Foundation; President, Board of Trustee, Oceanside Museum of Art) Cheryl Tall
Steven Churchill (Producer, The Art of Photography Show, The Art of Digital Show) Lisa Smith
Matt D'Arrigo (Founder/Executive Director, Pat D'Arrigo ARTS (Art, a Reason To Survive) Center) MOFO
Hugh Davies (The David C. Copley Director, Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego) Jeff Yeomans
Liz Edwards (Founder and Director of LetsPlayDowntown) Cynthia Colis
Mary-Catherine Ferguson (Museum Director, California Center for the Arts, Escondido) Raymond Ellstad
Arline Fisch (Artist/Jeweler/Author/ Professor of Art Emerita SDSU) Denise Bonaimo
Kevin Freitas (Art As Authority) Yuransky
April Game (CEO, San Diego Fine Art Society) Aaron Rix
Victoria Hamilton (Executive Director of the City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture) Kevin M. Connors
Jean Lowe (Installation artist, lecturer at UCSD) Alida Cervantes
Naomi Nussbaum (Director, Synergy Arts Foundation and the BL/EV Project) Mario Torero
Ellen Phelan (Art activist, educator, and noted contemporary art collector) Becky Cohen
Robert Pincus (Art Critic and Books Editor, The San Diego Union-Tribune and Sign-On San Diego) Pamela Jaeger
Larry Poteet (Lawyer, SDAI board member, art collector) and Debra Poteet (Collector, and both are honorary VIP hosts for SD Art Prize) Raul Guerrero
Vas Prabhu (Deputy Director for Education and Interpretation, SDMA) Gerrit Greve
Zandra Rhodes (International Fashion Icon) Irčne de Watteville
Gustaf Rooth (Planet Rooth, founder Ray at Night) Mary Fleener
Catherine Sass (Public Art Director, Port Of San Diego) Sidney Wildesmith
Jonathan Segal (Jonathan Segal FAIA & Development Company) Dan Camp
Felicia Shaw (Director Arts and Culture, The San Diego Foundation) Mireille des Rosiers
Doug Simay (Simayspace Gallery and Co-founder, The Art Academy of San Diego) Stuart Burton
Patricia Smith (Art Expressions Gallery, ArtsBusXpress) Stacy Smith
Philly Joe Swendoza (Chanter of Personality ArtRocks! Internet radio) and Alexandra Rosa (Co-Producer ArtRocks! Internet radio and SDVAN RAW Columnist) Jamie Roxx
Naimeh Tahna (Vice President of Network Development and Operations, Satori World Medical, Inc. and founder of Studio Vivace) Isaias Crow (Crol)
Mario Torero (Artivist, Barrio Logan /East Village Art Association) Lisa Smith
Gary Warth, Laurie Brindle, Laura Groch, and Pam Kragen (North County Times staffers) Dave Ghilarducci & Cindy Bis-Sevon
Constance White (Art Program Manager, Public Community & Customer Relations Dept, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority) Patricia Bean
Nate and Ralyn Wolfstein (Wolfstein Sculpture Park, Scripps Hospitals) Doug Snider and Chris Brown
Tina Yapelli (Professor and Director, University Art Gallery, San Diego State University) Gail Roberts

Visit the Movers and Shakers website for Artists and Movers and Shakers biographies as well as VIP views on highlights of the last year and their visions for the future of the visual arts in San Diego.


Id, Ego and Superego An introduction to the portraits in this exhibition

SD Flash Forward: Movers and Shakers Speak Out A summary of the visions for San Diego Futures by Movers and Shakers in this exhibition by Patricia Frischer and Kevin Freitas

Art Expressions Gallery : 2645 Financial Court, Suite C, SD, 92117 Link for map to gallery
Exhibition hours: Monday - Friday 9am-5pm, Saturday 10am-5pm

Info: Patricia Frischer 760.943.0148 or Patricia Smith 858.270.7577